Established by James Brown Scott:


This competition, endowing an award of 10’000 Swiss francs, is organized under the auspices of the Institute of International Law in accordance with the Regulations of the Prize as established by the late J.B. SCOTT. This Prize bears the name of thirteen distinguished international lawyers on a rotating basis.

The subject area of this competition is:

The Protection of the Environment and International Law

Dissertations on any question falling within this area can be submitted in German, English, Spanish, French, or Italian and should comply with all other requirements as specified in the Regulations of the Prize, which can be consulted on the website of the Institute of International Law: The manuscripts have to be submitted to the Secretary-General of the Institute at the latest by 31 December 2018 in PDF format to the following email: and in hard copy to:

Professor Marcelo Kohen IHEID
Chemin Eugène Rigot 2
Case postale 1672
Geneva 21

The Prize will be awarded during the 79th session of the Institute of International Law, which will be held in The Hague from 25 to 31 August 2019.

Read more about Henri Wheaton (external link)