Prizes instituted by James Brown Scott in tribute to his mother and sister

Andrés Bello Prize – Call for Manuscripts

This competition, endowing an award of 10’000 Swiss francs, is organized under the auspices of the Institute of International Law in accordance with the Regulations of the Prize as established by the late J.B. SCOTT. This Prize bears the name of thirteen distinguished international lawyers on a rotating basis.

The subject area of this competition is:

North-South Relations and International Law

Dissertations on any question falling within this theme can be submitted in English, French, German, Italian, or Spanish and should comply with all other requirements as specified in the Regulations of the Prize, which can be consulted on the website of the Institute of International Law:

The manuscripts have to be submitted to the Secretary-General of the Institute at the latest by 31 January 2021* in PDF format to the following email:
and in hard copy to:

Professor Marcelo Kohen
Chemin Eugène Rigot 2
Case postale 1672
CH-1211 Geneva 21

The proclamation of the prize winner(s) shall take place during the 80th session of the Institute of International Law, which will be held in Beijing in August 2021.

*Note that the original deadline was 31 December 2020 but due to the current circumstances it has been extended with 1 month to 31 January 2021.


Download flyer Andres Bello EN

Register to the newsletter