Prizes instituted by James Brown Scott in tribute to his mother and sister

Special James Brown Scott Prize – Call for Manuscripts

This competition, endowing an award of 10’000 Swiss francs, is organized under the auspices of the Institute of International Law in accordance with the Regulations of the Prize as established by the late J.B. SCOTT. This Prize bears the name of thirteen distinguished international lawyers on a rotating basis.

The subject matter of this competition is:

The Institute of International Law

The Institut celebrates its 150th anniversary in 2023. At this occasion the James Brown Scott Prize subject matter will be the Institute itself. Are eligible dissertations from a legal or/and historical perspective relating to the work or functioning of the Institute, to its members, its relations with other institutions and its impact in international law and international relations in general. Dissertation on any question falling within this theme can be submitted in German, English, Spanish, French, or Italian and should comply with all other requirements as specified in the Regulations of the Prize, which can be consulted on the website of the Institute of International Law:

The manuscripts have to be submitted to the Secretary-General of the Institute at the latest by 31 December 2022 in PDF format to the following email:

and in hard copy to:

Professor Marcelo Kohen

Chemin Eugène Rigot 2
Case postale 1672
Geneva 21

The proclamation of the prize winner(s) shall take place during the 81th session of the Institute of International Law.

Register to the newsletter