Bureau (2019-2021)

President: Ms XUE Hanqin

First Vice-President: Mr Antônio CANÇADO TRINDADE

Second Vice-President: Mr James KATEKA

Third Vice-President: Mr Theodor MERON


Secretary-General: Mr Marcelo KOHEN

Treasurer : Mr Fausto POCAR

President of the Programme Committee: Ms Laurence BOISSON DE CHAZOURNES



New Honorary Member:

Dame Rosalyn Higgins

New Titular Members:

Mr José Alvarez, Ms Boisson de Chazournes, Messrs Pierre d’Argent, Pierre-Marie Dupuy, Sir Christopher Greenwood, Messrs Lauri Mälksoo, Georg Nolte, Fabian Novak, Ms Monica Pinto, Messrs Linos-Alexandre Sicilianos, Bruno Simma, Alfred Soons, Symeon Symeonides, Hans van Houtte

New Associate Members:

Messrs Antony Terence Anghie, George A. Bermann, Olivier Corten, Ms Malgosia Fitzmaurice, Messrs Claudio Grossman, Burkhard Hess, Gérard Niyungeko, Jean-Marc Thouvenin, Jorge Viñuales


Declaration and Resolutions adopted by the Institute

Declaration relating to the situation of Mr Maurice Kamto

The Institute has adopted unanimously a declaration relating to the situation of Mr Maurice Kamto, member of the Institute, who is currently imprisoned in Cameroon. To read the declaration: https://www.idi-iil.org/en/declaration-situation-de-m-maurice-kamto/



The following resolutions have been adopted in The Hague:

–  Equality of Parties before International Investment Tribunals (18th Commission, Rapporteur Campbell McLachlan)

–  Injuries to Rights of Personality Through the Use of the Internet: Jurisdiction, Applicable Law and Recognition of Foreign Judgments (8th Commission, Rapporteurs Erik Jayme & Symeon Symeonides)

The resolutions have been published on the website of the Institute: https://www.idi-iil.org/en/sessions/la-haye-2019/?post_type=publication


Prizes instituted by J.B. Scott 

Henri Wheaton Prize 2019:

The Henri Wheaton Prize in the subject area of “The Protection of the Environment and International Law” has been awarded to Ms Katalin Sulyok for her manuscript entitled « Scientific Engagement of International Courts and Tribunals in Environmental Disputes – Science and the Legitimacy of Adjudicatory Reasoning ».

The manuscript submitted by Ms Françoise Paccaud entitled « Le contentieux de l’environnement devant la Cour internationale de Justice » has received an honourable mention.

Andrés Bello Prize 2021:

The Institute has decided that the subject area of the Andrés Bello Prize concerns « North-South Relations and International Law ». The deadline for submission of dissertations in conformity with the Prize Regulations is 31 December 2020.

Special Prize James Brown Scott – 150th anniversary of the Institute of International Law

A special prize competition will be held in light of the 150th anniversary of the Institute in 2023. More information will follow in due time.


Next session

In 2021 the 80th session of the Institute will be organized in Beijing (China)

Register to the newsletter